39 in stock

SKU: HAWGSMOKE-1301-2022-1001-A Categories: ,


Computer made/mounted on velcro   4.0 inch-100mm



Hawgsmoke is a biennial United States Air Force bombing, missile, and tactical gunnery competition for A-10 Thunderbolt II units. It is hosted by the winners of the previous competition and provides both skills competition and an opportunity to share in the camaraderie and fellowship within the A-10 community.

Hawgsmoke grew out of the discontinued “Gunsmoke” Air Force Worldwide Gunnery Competition. Gunsmoke had been the US Air Force’s air-to-ground gunnery and bombing competition involving multiple airframes, first held in 1949 and then biennially (except for 1963-1980) from 1954 to 1995 at Nellis AFB, NV.

Colonel Cliff Latta of the 172d Fighter Squadron is credited with initiating the first Hawgsmoke competition at the Alpena Combat Readiness Training Center, MI and was hosted by the Michigan ANG’s 172d Fighter Squadron from Battle Creek. A-10 units from around the world sent four aircraft and associated crew to compete in ground attack and target destruction events. The 118th Fighter Squadron from the Connecticut ANG won the first event and in turn hosted Hawgsmoke 2002, at Fort Drum, NY.

In 2002 17 teams and 62 aircraft competed. The overall winner was the four-member team from the 47th Fighter Squadron from Barksdale AFB, LA. Hawgsmoke 2002 emphasized target acquisition and focused on accurately dropping practice bombs, firing the AGM-65 Maverick missile, and strafing proficiency with the 30 mm GAU-8 Gatling gun.

Hawgsmoke 2004 was hosted by the 47th Fighter Squadron and held at England Air Park, LA. The competition grew to include 18 teams and more than 70 aircraft. Weather conditions forced the cancellation of the competition events and consequently the event became known as “Hawgwash” 2004.

Hawgsmoke 2006 was hosted by the 355th Fighter Wing. It was held 22–25 Mar 2006 at Davis Monthan AFB, AZ. Hawgsmoke 2006 coincided the 30th Anniversary of the A-10; consequently, over 140 aircraft flew in to take part. The 303d Fighter Squadron from Whiteman AFB, MO emerged the winner.

Hawgsmoke 2008 was held from 14-18 Oct 2008 hosted by the 303d Fighter Squadron at Salina Airport, KS. The location was chosen because of its location near the Smoky Hill Range, KS and the ample ramp space. 190th Fighter Squadron based at Gowen ANGB, ID, won the prize for Top Team.

Hawgsmoke 2010 was held between 13-15 Oct 2010 at Gowen ANGB, ID. The home based 190th Fighter Squadron won Top Team in the competition for the second time in a row. The 190th won a second prize when Maj. Scott Downey was named top pilot at Hawgsmoke 2010.

The 355th Fighter Wing hosted Hawgsmoke 2012, between 15-17 Aug 2012 at Davis Monthan AFB, AZ, and utilized the Barry M. Goldwater Range. Davis Monthan’s resident 357th Fighter Squadron won the prestigious Al “Mud” Moore Trophy for Top Overall A-10 unit.

Hawgsmoke 2014 was held again at Davis Monthan AFB, AZ, with 355th Fighter Wing hosting the event between 9-12 July 2012. The 14 A-10 units made extensive use of the Barry M. Goldwater Range during the competition. The 47th Fighter Squadron, an Air Force Reserve Command unit based at Davis-Monthan was awarded the Top Overall A-10 unit.

Hawgsmoke 2016 had 13 teams competing, once again taking place at Davis Monthan AFB, AZ. Running from 1-3 June 2016, pilots expended their ordnance over the vast Barry M. Goldwater Range. Davis Monthan’s 47th Fighter Squadron was again named Top Overall A-10 unit. Capt. David “Gnome” Knighton of the 47th FS won the top pilot trophy.

Hawgsmoke 2018 took place from 17 to 20 Oct 2018 at Whiteman AFB, MO. The Cannon Range located near Laquey, MO, was used for the competition. The 74th Fighter Squadron from Moody AFB, GA won the event. The 74th won Top Tactical and Top Conventional team awards.

Hawgsmoke 2020 was due to be hosted by the 74th Fighter Squadron at Moody AFB, GA, but canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Hawgsmoke 2021 replaces Hawgsmoke 2020 and is now due to take place from 31 Mar-4 Apr 2021.

Hawgsmoke 2022 took place from 6-9 September 2022 at Gowen Field, Boise, ID, being hosted by the Skullbangers of the 190th Fighter Squadron who won the event.

Additional information

Cost of Patch